Burn Permits

Most outdoor burning in Larimer County requires a permit signed by both Wellington Fire Protection District (WFPD) and the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment (LCDHE). WFPD's Deputy Fire Marshal evaluates applications for potential fire safety issues, while the health department evaluates air quality issues that can impact human health. A Specialty Burn Permit must be obtained for conducting agricultural ditch burns, weed control, bon fires, or other fires containing non-prohibited materials.

Open burning in Larimer County is regulated by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Air Pollution Control Division and LCDHE under Colorado Air Quality Control Commission’s Regulations # 1 and # 9. Open burning without a permit is illegal and can result in fines of up to $10,000 per day.

What can I burn?

Wellington Fire Protection District will only allow clean, dry slash to be burned. Slash is defined as clean dry branches four inches or less in diameter, not containing other smoke producing materials.

What can't I burn?

  • Routine yard and garden clean-up waste (wet grass, leaves, etc.)

  • Structures

  • Stumps

  • Construction debris

  • Household garbage

  • Materials that produce excessive smoke (plastic, tires, cattails, etc.)

  • Commercial/Business waste

Smith%20Lake%20Fire%20Feb_edited.jpg

I am ready to burn, how do I get a permit?

  1. You can find the burn permit application using the Larimer County Burn Permit Application  or call (970) 498-6775 for assistance.

  2. Larimer County Department of Health and Environment will evaluate and process the application.

  3. Once approved by LCDHE your application will be sent to Wellington Fire Protection District's Deputy Fire Marshal.

  4. If your application is approved, you will get the Permit via an email attachment if you provide an email address, or it is mailed via the USPS.

My permit was approved, what's next?

Prior to ignition on the day of the burn, call the communications dispatch center on your approved burn permit. You will need to call the same number to let the dispatch center know your burn is out. Keep a copy of your burn permit with you when you are burning.

Safety Guidelines.

  • Piles should be no larger than 8 x 8 feet in diameter at the base and 6 feet high.

  • Winds must be less than 10 mph.

  • Fires Must be attended by an adult at all times. Always have water, a rake, and a shovel available.

  • All burning must be extinguished by nightfall.

Still have question?

Contact Deputy Fire Marshal Everitt Pettit at epettit@wfpd.org or 970-413-2520.

Printable FAQ Sheet: 

Burn Permits 101: What You Need to Know Before you Burn.